Penalty Rates Under Abbott? Not Likely!

Do you think we will have penalty rates under Phony Flappit?

From Nicholson Cartoons.

From Nicholson Cartoons.

Not likely. From communications that I have received from some Liberals in the past, they seem to think that Australia is now a 24 hour economy, and therefore if people want a job, then perhaps they should be working nights and weekends, without penalty rates.

With Flappit about to get into the head office of Australia, what do YOU think will happen? Will we still have penalty rates next year, or the year after?

 

This is a media release from Save Our Weekend

While it’s easy to lose sight of the bigger picture amongst the political spin and media stunts, some important issues have emerged this election and the Aussie weekend is one of them.

Business leaders have been in full flight urging Tony Abbott to wind back penalty rates if he’s elected. Retailers Association boss Russell Zimmerman said we need a ‘review and reduction of penalty rates’. McDonald’s CEO Catriona Noble added ‘we don’t want everyone who works nights and weekends to have penalty rates.’

Watch the brand new Save Our Aussie Weekend video!

We know the community disagrees. We value our evenings and weekends as time for family and community. Most Australians accept that if you work on the weekend you deserve special compensation.

Tony Abbott, where do you stand?
Tony Abbott has refused to commit to maintaining penalty rates if the Liberal Party wins government on September 7 and some recent comments give plenty of cause for concern:

• Last month Tony Abbott told a business leaders group that he thinks penalty rates are responsible for some businesses shutting down.

• Liberal Party Shadow Minister for Employment Participation Sussan Ley recently told a group of businesses in her electorate that the Coalition would be “more energetic” in its support for business requests to change penalty rates.

We know many Australians depend on penalty rates to pay the bills. Save our Aussie Weekend: new video

Watch and share the Save Our Aussie Weekend video and make sure your friends and family know what’s at stake this election.

United Voice email update.

About Blog of Greg

I consider myself a thinker and I like to discuss everything in life with those around me. Mostly I am serious, sometimes I am funny, and occasionally I am rude. I like to wear my heart on my sleeve and say what I feel, or think! It is important to me to be honest about how I feel and why! I detest pretense, big egos and self importance. I believe that I am no more important than you, and similarly that you are no more important than me! [apparently I should reflect on this more often] This blog is a way of engaging people in different aspects of life; its goal is to present a different view of life and contribute to a broadening of our awareness. While this blog is essentially my opinion, I also understand that there are other opinions out there. Though I encourage discussion, I may “delete” comments that I find are unhelpful, argumentative, or offensive towards myself or another person. Often I write about politics – apparently that is an interest of mine – but I also like to write about other more personal things that affect us in our day to day lives. Along with this blog, I also write to politicians and newspapers; I often present a commentary on my blog about following comments or decisions. That way everyone understands what they have said – and sometimes of course how big a buffoon they are:) Please feel free to comment on my posts, as I would like to hear what you have to say. After all…. Your opinion is just as valid as mine!
This entry was posted in Business, Politics, Wages/Conditions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

