In or Out?

Hi everyone,

I haven’t written for a while, I have pretty much been working 7 days per week and long hours. So this is my first for a while.

I started to write this as a comment to a post:
http://theaimn.com/2013/11/02/i-get-it/
but decided that it could well belong as a post of my own analysis of the recent Australian election.

Victoria Rollison (http://theaimn.com/author/victoriarollison81/) wrote I Get It, which was her analysis of the election. I have also pondered this situation, and have thought about why the Rudd Labor government was voted out of office, and why the Liberal’s were voted in.

One of the commenters at the end of the article (Gitte) wrote that he/she felt that the Labor government was voted out, and I am inclined to agree. From my experience in politics (about 15 years), I have felt that the people tend to vote a government out, and not in. This is just my observation, and feelings of what has been happening at the time.

In this recent vote, Tony Abbot bad mouthed Labor for 3 years in order to drive negative opinion against Labor. The media constantly carried on in the same manner as the Liberal party, with outrageous statements and abuse of Prime Minister Gillard.

That’s not to say that Labor was doing everything right or wrong, but that the Liberal’s wanted to capitalise on policy that went against their own ideology, in order to drive public opposition to Labor.

As an example of this, the Liberal’s constantly claimed that the Carbon Tax would kill families and business. But I did a calculation on the amount of Carbon tax that my family paid under the Carbon Tax, and I found that it was about $133 (while this is conservative, I did add a percentage to all purchases, not just those that were directly increased due to the Carbon Tax – which I calculated using a 10% increase).

I then calculated the cost the GST added to my bills, which I was directly able to calculate because I was able to remove the cost of fresh food. The cost of the GST was $1495. [I have a record of EVERY purchase for the last 12 months – yes I know it is a bit anal!]

I might point out that over the last 3 years, nowhere did the Liberal’s suggest that ALL Australian’s had a tax cut of roughly $1800 due to the increase in the tax free threshold. So the Liberal’s demonised the Carbon Tax even though many, if not all Australian’s were better off due to the Carbon Tax. Nor did they comment on the dreadful cost the GST had on the general public!

But because they demonised the Carbon Tax (and all of the other policies from Labor), they were able to sway opinion. And this type of deception, allowed them convince the public that Labor’s policies were bad. They also did this with refugees and the mining tax [with help from Rinehart and co.] of course.

I might state clearly that I DO NOT support Labor, nor the Carbon Tax in its current form, however my point is clearly that the 3 year deception was to convince the population of the negative impacts of the various policies in order to produce a negative feeling towards Labor to get Labor voted OUT – AND IT WORKED!!! This is of course my opinion, but seems consistent over recent elections.

What really bugs me with the election rules, is that the various political parties are not required to present their policies in full – and so there is no discussion on the various policies – the people can NOT analyse exactly what they will implement if voted in. We saw this with “Work Choices”.

In the year that Howard was voted in and subsequently introduced “Work Choices”, the Liberal Party document he presented to the people, stated something along the line of “improve workplace relations”. Nowhere did it state that “Work Choices” and all of its idiosyncrasies, would be introduced and the implications to workers! This too, is deception and deliberate misinformation. IMHO.

Unfortunately the populace seem not to be able to understand, nor want to understand what the major parties actually stand for. They do not seem to pay attention to the ideology of the major parties, their backers, financiers and so on.

Our electoral system is one where deception is the norm, and where the powerful minority have a larger voice than those of the general populace. IMHO that is why our electoral system needs a complete overhaul.

But while we rely entirely on the two party system, this will never change because it requires that those two major parties agree to implement a change that will negatively impact on their chances of re-election. Which they will NEVER do!

One final comment. I also get increasingly irritated by the level of debate that some people like to engage in. It would seem these days that if you don’t agree or like what someone says, you just bad mouth them, label them, or denigrate them. This is NOT debate, but small minded petty abuse.

It provides ZERO input into resolving difficulties and is in my opinion, just petty and childish. It is far better to say “I feel that… I am concerned with… I personally believe…“ Own the comment, Own the feeling, take responsibility! God help us if we actually have to take responsibility for something – just blame someone else!!! In case you don’t realise, I am being SARCASTIC!

That way we can understand why a person feels a certain way and try to compromise and understand what we all need. Compromise! That is another word that people have no understanding of how to implement – that would require maturity!!!

As an aside, I would also like to see a code of conduct introduced into parliament, that would eliminate this type of bad mouthing, labeling and abuse. It is childish and belittling – totally unsuitable to the highest office in the country. Just another small opinion by me.

So that is my analyses, and where I must leave it for now. Just my thoughts and observations.

Greg.

About Blog of Greg

I consider myself a thinker and I like to discuss everything in life with those around me. Mostly I am serious, sometimes I am funny, and occasionally I am rude. I like to wear my heart on my sleeve and say what I feel, or think! It is important to me to be honest about how I feel and why! I detest pretense, big egos and self importance. I believe that I am no more important than you, and similarly that you are no more important than me! [apparently I should reflect on this more often] This blog is a way of engaging people in different aspects of life; its goal is to present a different view of life and contribute to a broadening of our awareness. While this blog is essentially my opinion, I also understand that there are other opinions out there. Though I encourage discussion, I may “delete” comments that I find are unhelpful, argumentative, or offensive towards myself or another person. Often I write about politics – apparently that is an interest of mine – but I also like to write about other more personal things that affect us in our day to day lives. Along with this blog, I also write to politicians and newspapers; I often present a commentary on my blog about following comments or decisions. That way everyone understands what they have said – and sometimes of course how big a buffoon they are:) Please feel free to comment on my posts, as I would like to hear what you have to say. After all…. Your opinion is just as valid as mine!
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

