The Threatened Great Barrier Reef

Dear readers,

I haven’t written much of late as I have been busy and have been suffering too many very bad headaches.

However I wanted to make this quick post as I feel very strongly about it.

20140201-152917.jpg

Image borrowed from: http://www.thalabeach.com.au/great-barrier-reef-documentary/

I have just donated to the fighting fund to take on the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in a Legal challenge to stop dredge spoil dumping in the marine park.

https://www.getup.org.au/campaigns/great-barrier-reef–3/reef-fighting-fund/reef-fighting-fund

https://m.facebook.com/GetUpAustralia

I would rarely donate towards things like this unless I felt that it was imperative to stop dumping in the marine park. Budgets are tight when you have a young family and an old run down house!

The reef is an irreplaceable world heritage listed Australian icon that deserves better. All that our idiotic governments seem able to think about is short term profits – it’s called micro-economic management – and it doesn’t work. But they are incapable of considering the potential impact on the reef, and direct and indirect jobs that the reef supports – that would be called macro-economic management and is only for long term planning!

Also the Liberal Party are financed by miners and big business that want this project to go ahead. We also know that the IPA ( The Institute of Public Affairs), the Liberal Party think tank, is financed by miners, big business, big tobacco, big carbon etc. so why wouldn’t the Liberal Party want dredge spoil dumping to go ahead in the marine park. To dump it elsewhere would mean costing the miners more, and we can’t have that!

The reef is responsible for the employment of hundreds of thousands of people (both directly and indirectly), while mining only employs tens of thousands. The only reason the Queensland and Federal governments want this spoil dumping in the marine park, is because they have decimated all other industries and no longer have the capacity to balance the books any other way.

Because of our ideological governments, we are now a banana republic, with few other exports than mining and farming. So the government would rather risk permanently destroying a world heritage icon than developing a long term strategy for exports.

That’s why I have contributed to the Getup fighting fund. I hope you do to. It’s the last chance we have to stop dumping on the reef!!

Please help to save this for our children if you can afford to donate towards this legal challenge.

Thanks,
Greg.

About Blog of Greg

I consider myself a thinker and I like to discuss everything in life with those around me. Mostly I am serious, sometimes I am funny, and occasionally I am rude. I like to wear my heart on my sleeve and say what I feel, or think! It is important to me to be honest about how I feel and why! I detest pretense, big egos and self importance. I believe that I am no more important than you, and similarly that you are no more important than me! [apparently I should reflect on this more often] This blog is a way of engaging people in different aspects of life; its goal is to present a different view of life and contribute to a broadening of our awareness. While this blog is essentially my opinion, I also understand that there are other opinions out there. Though I encourage discussion, I may “delete” comments that I find are unhelpful, argumentative, or offensive towards myself or another person. Often I write about politics – apparently that is an interest of mine – but I also like to write about other more personal things that affect us in our day to day lives. Along with this blog, I also write to politicians and newspapers; I often present a commentary on my blog about following comments or decisions. That way everyone understands what they have said – and sometimes of course how big a buffoon they are:) Please feel free to comment on my posts, as I would like to hear what you have to say. After all…. Your opinion is just as valid as mine!
This entry was posted in Environment, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Threatened Great Barrier Reef

  1. Pingback: Why the Great Barrier Reef is Threatened | The Blog of Greg

  2. Pingback: Australian government threatens Great Barrier Reef | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Your thoughts?

