A Hardly Normal response!

LemonDear readers,

Following on from the lounge suite saga:

http://bit.ly/1ZofpLA

A Harvey Norman representative did contact me via email, essentially indicating that the cables for the lounge suite only had a one year warranty, and that the client would have to pay nearly $50 each for the two cables; then they would have to pay someone to install them, a sum that could amount to around $200.

A repair bill that could amount to up to one tenth the purchase price of the lounge suite. (the cables cost $6 each from eBay I might add – just a “tiny” markup)

As included in the previous blog (link above), under Australian consumer law, products must be fit for purpose, and if there are exclusions within a warranty, it is a requirement for this to be fully disclosed under Australian consumer law.

The client has indicated to me, that they weren’t informed that the cables in their $2000 lounge suite might fail shortly after 12 months, and that a repair of this might cost up to $200.

To be fair to Harvey Norman, the lounge is now just over 2 years old, but according to the client, the cables failed at around 18 months. The client had lost the receipt, and had no way of verifying purchase – and didn’t know that they could – until I took on the case and contacted Harvey Norman in their interest.

A lounge suite that costs $2000, should have parts that last a bit longer. If it doesn’t, then a suitable disclaimer and bold print should clearly indicate this. Failure to do so, could be construed as a breach of consumer law!

I stand by my professional opinion, as a repairer of decades, that the cables are not fit for purpose. There is either too much load for them to last long enough, or the design of the lounge suite is inadequate for the cable used. I suggest that they have failed due to either poor design, poor manufacturing, or poor quality.

You be the judge. What do you think of Harvey Norman’s claims. How will this influence your future lounge purchase, or will it?

Do you want a supplier who stands by their product and supports you afterwards, or do you want a supplier to walk away and avoid dealing with, what could be seen as, an early failure?

Would you be happy having to fork out one tenth of the cost of the lounge suite every two years for a repair?

My personal opinion, I wouldn’t buy from a re-seller like Harvey Norman. Prices are elevated to pay for the profit margins of the importer, manufacturer, and the re-seller. Hence why a $400 Chinese lounge suite costs $2000 in Harvey Norman. Then if there are any problems, you have to deal with the re-seller and/or the importer to seek repair. Then if this fails, you are left with a $2000 lemon, or take legal action!

But wait there is the “internet” to spread the word. 🙂

well that’s it folks,

bye for now,

Greg.

 

#harveynorman

About Blog of Greg

I consider myself a thinker and I like to discuss everything in life with those around me. Mostly I am serious, sometimes I am funny, and occasionally I am rude. I like to wear my heart on my sleeve and say what I feel, or think! It is important to me to be honest about how I feel and why! I detest pretense, big egos and self importance. I believe that I am no more important than you, and similarly that you are no more important than me! [apparently I should reflect on this more often] This blog is a way of engaging people in different aspects of life; its goal is to present a different view of life and contribute to a broadening of our awareness. While this blog is essentially my opinion, I also understand that there are other opinions out there. Though I encourage discussion, I may “delete” comments that I find are unhelpful, argumentative, or offensive towards myself or another person. Often I write about politics – apparently that is an interest of mine – but I also like to write about other more personal things that affect us in our day to day lives. Along with this blog, I also write to politicians and newspapers; I often present a commentary on my blog about following comments or decisions. That way everyone understands what they have said – and sometimes of course how big a buffoon they are:) Please feel free to comment on my posts, as I would like to hear what you have to say. After all…. Your opinion is just as valid as mine!
This entry was posted in Business and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

