Women in Iraq

This will be a very quick post.

Iraqi protests

Protests in Iraq on International Women’s day to stop attacks on Women by the Shiite regime

I read recently of a young girl who was married off to an old guy in one of the middle east countries, with the result that the girl died on marriage night due to being raped to death. I think the girl was about twelve years old.

I was absolutely horrified that this could happen in a modern world. I didn’t realise that we were still barbarians – at least in some parts of the world.

I now read that one of the loony religious groups in Iraq has proposed a policy that would allow girls as young as nine to be married. It would also state that the father would become the sole guardian of a boy or girl at the age of two.

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2014-03-09/iraqi-women-protest-against-proposed-islamic-law/5308380

Life, particularly for women is so bad in some of these countries. We are so lucky in the West.

Religion should be banned!

That’s all I have to say about that.

Greg.

PS:

I thought I would add a couple of other links from a fellow blogger on similar lines. Women all around the world are being attacked by MEN whose balls need to be cut off – figuratively speaking that is!

http://dearkitty1.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/spanish-governments-anti-women-policies/

International Women’s Day censorship in Canada

Marital rape legal in Bahrain

Sudanese government bans International Women’s Day

And if you keep searching the web, you can find this is happening everywhere – even in Australia by Right Wing religious zealots such as our current idiot Prime Minister and his loony mates!!! See this analysis of Cory Bernardi

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-01-07/porter-the-real-danger-in-cory-bernardi-comments/5189168 – and he isn’t the only one in Politics in australia – but he is one of the worst!

Bye for now.

Greg.

About Blog of Greg

I consider myself a thinker and I like to discuss everything in life with those around me. Mostly I am serious, sometimes I am funny, and occasionally I am rude. I like to wear my heart on my sleeve and say what I feel, or think! It is important to me to be honest about how I feel and why! I detest pretense, big egos and self importance. I believe that I am no more important than you, and similarly that you are no more important than me! [apparently I should reflect on this more often] This blog is a way of engaging people in different aspects of life; its goal is to present a different view of life and contribute to a broadening of our awareness. While this blog is essentially my opinion, I also understand that there are other opinions out there. Though I encourage discussion, I may “delete” comments that I find are unhelpful, argumentative, or offensive towards myself or another person. Often I write about politics – apparently that is an interest of mine – but I also like to write about other more personal things that affect us in our day to day lives. Along with this blog, I also write to politicians and newspapers; I often present a commentary on my blog about following comments or decisions. That way everyone understands what they have said – and sometimes of course how big a buffoon they are:) Please feel free to comment on my posts, as I would like to hear what you have to say. After all…. Your opinion is just as valid as mine!
This entry was posted in Family/children, Social/Community and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?